Committee on Academic Programs (CAP) Minutes for Meeting on February 26, 2025

Present: Matt Bender, Angie Capece, Cecilia Colbeth, Ellen Farr, Chris Fisher, Kaitlin Harker, Jennifer Palmgren, Susan Ryan, Stephanie Sen, Sylvia Twersky, Shengbin Wang, Lisa Watson-Cotton, Steven Singer, Dave Mazeika

Absent: Jackie Anderson

1. Review and approve minutes

a. CAP reviewed and approved the <u>February 12, 2025</u> meeting minutes.

2. Discussion of current charges/business

- a. GSC's Role in Governance
 - i. Testimony was provided to Jana Gevertz and Chanelle Lester from Steering
 - ii. CAP suggested a model where GSC is elevated to reside within CAP while simultaneously establishing an Undergraduate Studies Council (USC) that also resides in CAP. These two councils will function collaboratively within CAP, maintaining a distinct but integrated structure.
 - iii. CAP will share a proposal with GSC before Apr 2, 2025.
- b. Grad Certificate in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
 - i. CAP voted to approve this certificate
- c. Music Performance Minor
 - i. CAP needs further time to review this proposal, and will discuss it again at its March 12th meeting.

3. Discussion of new charges/business

- a. Core Curriculum Revision
 - i. <u>New members will be added to the College Core Council to build off the</u> work of the Faculty Senate, and come up with a few proposed models for the new core by Apr 1, 2025.
 - ii. <u>CAP formed a subcommittee to put a timeline and strategy for gathering testimony</u>. Proposed changes to the language requirement will be layered into this testimony. A plan will be finalized by Apr 1, 2025.
 - iii.

Next Meeting: Mar 12, 2025

2024-2025 Roster

- 1. Steven Singer, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 2. Angie Capece, Faculty, term expires 2026

- 3. Sylvia Twersky, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 4. Matthew Bender, Faculty, term expires 2027
- 5. Shengbin Wang, Faculty, term expires 2027
- 6. Stephanie Sen, One year replacement, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 7. Susan Ryan, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 8. Dave Mazeika, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 9. Cecilia Colbeth, Staff, term expires 2027
- 10. Jennifer Palmgren, provost designee
- 11. Christopher Fisher, Academic Dean
- 12. Ellen Farr, Staff, term expires 2025
- 13. Jackie Anderson, Undergraduate Student
- 14. Kaitlin Harker, Undergraduate Student
- 15. Katy Robinson, Graduate Student
- 16. Lisa Watson-Cotton