Committee on Academic Programs (CAP) Minutes for Meeting on March 12, 2025

Present: Jackie Anderson, Matt Bender, Angie Capece, Cecilia Colbeth, Ellen Farr, Chris Fisher, Kaitlin Harker, Jennifer Palmgren, Susan Ryan, Stephanie Sen, Sylvia Twersky, Shengbin Wang, Lisa Watson-Cotton, Steven Singer, Dave Mazeika

1. Review and approve minutes

a. CAP reviewed and approved the February 26 meeting minutes

2. Discussion of current charges/business

- a. Internships and Co-Op Policy
 - i. CAP agreed to increase the percentage of a graduate degree that could be fulfilled by a co-op to 60%.
 - 1. CAP approved the revised internships and co-op policy and will add a note in its memo to Steering that BME partners have NDA's that prevent faculty involvement, precluding them from participating in a co-op.
- b. College Core Revision
 - i. CAP will start drafting questions for the testimony
- c. GSC Elevation
 - i. A counter proposal that would bring GSC into CAP as a co-equal branch and will be sent to Steering
- d. Music Performance Minor
 - i. CAP approved the Music Performance Minor for Music Education majors
 - ii. The Music Department is revising and will send an updated proposal for the Music Performance Minor for non music majors.
- e. English Certificates
 - i. CAP approved the Publishing and Editing and the Teaching and Writing Certificates

3. Discussion of new charges/business

a. CAP formed two subcommittees to review the grad student probation and dismissal policy and approval of online programs and the sports management and archeology minors.

Next Meeting: March 26th, 2025

2024-2025 Roster

- 1. Steven Singer, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 2. Angie Capece, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 3. Sylvia Twersky, Faculty, term expires 2026

- 4. Matthew Bender, Faculty, term expires 2027
- 5. Shengbin Wang, Faculty, term expires 2027
- 6. Stephanie Sen, One year replacement, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 7. Susan Ryan, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 8. Dave Mazeika, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 9. Cecilia Colbeth, Staff, term expires 2027
- 10. Jennifer Palmgren, provost designee
- 11. Christopher Fisher, Academic Dean
- 12. Ellen Farr, Staff, term expires 2025
- 13. Jackie Anderson, Undergraduate Student
- 14. Kaitlin Harker, Undergraduate Student
- 15. Katy Robinson, Graduate Student
- 16. Lisa Watson-Cotton