Committee on Academic Programs (CAP) Minutes for Meeting on February 28, 2024

Present:

David Mazeika, Monisha Pulimood, Steven Singer, Jennifer Palmgren, Ellen Farr, Brett BuSha, John McCarty, Susan Ryan, Jennifer Castro, Lisa Watson-Cotton, Tracy Perron, Susan Ryan, Lisa Grimm, Sylvia Twersky, Katy Robinson, Avani Rana, Jackie Anderson

Excused: Angie Capece

1. Review and approve minutes

a. The February 14th Minutes were approved

2. Announcements

a.

3. Discussion of current charges/business:

- a. Active charges/business under discussion
 - i. Structural Changes: FYS/FYW, required units, and language requirements
 - 1. It was agreed to hold three open forums at: faculty senate, staff senate, and student government
 - 2. A survey will also be created and distributed campus-wide
 - 3. Working groups were formed to facilitate the forum discussions and summarize results
 - ii. Changes to the honors program
 - 1. CAP approved the proposed changes to the honors program
 - iii. BA in Mathematics
 - 1. CAP approved the proposal to create a BA in Mathematics
 - iv. Learning Assistant 5 year review
 - 1. CAP has no substantive changes to the policy
 - v. Graduate student academic load and definition
 - CAP approved the policy and accepted the amendments from Steering

4. Notes on Committees that report to CAP

- a. College Core Council
- b. Community Engaged Learning Council
- c. Cultural and Intellectual Community Council
- d. Global Engagement Council
- e. Graduate Studies Council
- f. Honors and Scholars Council
- g. Mentored Research and Internships Council
- h. Self-Designed Major Council

- i. Teacher Education Council
- j. Teaching and Learning Council

Our **next meeting** will be March 27th, 2024

- 1. Steven Singer, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 2. Angie Capece, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 3. Sylvia Twersky, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 4. John McCarty, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 5. Brett BuSha, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 6. Monisha Pulimood, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 7. Tracy Perron, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 8. Susan Ryan, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 9. Dave Mazeika, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 10. Avani Rana, Staff, term expires 2024
- 11. Ellen Farr, Staff, term expires 2025
- 12. Jennifer Palmgren, provost designee
- 13. Lisa Grimm, Academic Dean
- 14. Jackie Anderson, Undergraduate Student
- 15. Jennifer Castro, Undergraduate Student
- 16. Katy Robinson Graduate Student
- 17. Lisa Watson-Cotton, Records & Registration representative