Committee on Academic Programs (CAP) Minutes for Meeting on February 14, 2024

Present:

David Mazeika, Monisha Pulimood, Steven Singer, Jennifer Palmgren, Ellen Farr, Angie Capece, Avani Rana, Brett BuSha, John McCarty, Susan Ryan, Jennifer Castro, Lisa Watson-Cotton, Tracy Perron, Susan Ryan, Jackie Anderson, Lisa Grimm, Sylvia Twersky, Katy Robinson

1. Review and approve minutes

a. The January 24th meeting minutes were approved.

2. Announcements

a.

3. Discussion of current charges/business:

- a. Active charges/business under discussion
 - i. <u>Graduate Student Full Time Definition</u>: The final recommendation was reviewed, approved, and will be sent to Steering with one minor friendly amendment.
 - ii. <u>World Languages and Cultures Certificate Proposal</u>: The proposed certificates were reviewed and approved and will be sent to Steering.
 - iii. <u>Internships</u>. The sub-committee reported on their meeting with the Chemistry Department. The sub-committee will draft a definition of co-op to contrast it with an Internship. CAP will review the revised definition and then proceed to secure testimony.
 - iv. <u>FYW/FYS</u>: Kit Murphy, Nina Ringer, and Constance Kartoz gave a presentation on the proposal to remove the first year writing requirement.
 - 1. CAP believes this proposed change needs to go out for testimony. A subcommittee (Ellen Farr, Avani Rana, Brett BuSha) was formed to frame the request for public comment.

4. Notes on Committees that report to CAP

- a. College Core Council
- b. Community Engaged Learning Council
- c. Cultural and Intellectual Community Council
- d. Global Engagement Council
- e. Graduate Studies Council
- f. Honors and Scholars Council
- g. Mentored Research and Internships Council

- h. Self-Designed Major Council
- i. Teacher Education Council
- j. Teaching and Learning Council

Our **next meeting** will be February 28th, 2024

- 1. Steven Singer, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 2. Angie Capece, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 3. Sylvia Twersky, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 4. John McCarty, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 5. Brett BuSha, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 6. Monisha Pulimood, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 7. Tracy Perron, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 8. Susan Ryan, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 9. Dave Mazeika, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 10. Avani Rana, Staff, term expires 2024
- 11. Ellen Farr, Staff, term expires 2025
- 12. Jennifer Palmgren, provost designee
- 13. Lisa Grimm, Academic Dean
- 14. Jackie Anderson, Undergraduate Student
- 15. Jennifer Castro, Undergraduate Student
- 16. Katy Robinson Graduate Student
- 17. Lisa Watson-Cotton, Records & Registration representative