Committee on Academic Programs (CAP) Minutes for Meeting on January 24, 2024

Present:

David Mazeika, Monisha Pulimood, Steven Singer, Jennifer Palmgren, Ellen Farr, Angie Capece, Avani Rana, Brett BuSha, John McCarty, Susan Ryan, Jennifer Castro, Lisa Watson-Cotton, Tracy Perron, Susan Ryan, Jackie Anderson, Lisa Grimm

Excused absence:

Sylvia Twersky, Katy Robinson

1. Review and approve minutes

a. The December 13th meeting minutes were approved.

2. Announcement

- a. Changing of FYW requirements
 - i. It was agreed to invite Kit Murphy and other relevant parties to share the results of their evaluation of the FYW and FYS requirements

3. Discussion of current charges/business:

- a. <u>Active charges/business under discussion</u>
 - i. Graduate Student FT Definition

GSC subcommittee requested and received feedback on the policy. They will meet again in two weeks to discuss feedback. Initial review is positive and a final policy / recommendations should be complete by the Feb 14th CAP meeting.

ii. WLC Certificate Proposal

The subcommittee will meet prior to the Feb 14th meeting and report back on the initial review of the charge.

iii. Internship

The co-op subcommittee will reach out to the Chemistry Department, who initiated this policy review, for additional feedback.

iv. Mid-semester Evaluation

Suggested edits were finalized and will be shared with Steering

v. Section 70

CAP voted to send the charge back to Steering to clarify the scope of our review.

4. Notes on Committees that report to CAP

- a. College Core Council
- b. Community Engaged Learning Council

- c. Cultural and Intellectual Community Council
- d. Global Engagement Council
- e. Graduate Studies Council
- f. Honors and Scholars Council
- g. Mentored Research and Internships Council
- h. Self-Designed Major Council
- i. Teacher Education Council
- j. Teaching and Learning Council

Our next meeting will be February 14th, 2024

- 1. Steven Singer, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 2. Angie Capece, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 3. Sylvia Twersky, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 4. John McCarty, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 5. Brett BuSha, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 6. Monisha Pulimood, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 7. Tracy Perron, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 8. Susan Ryan, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 9. Dave Mazeika, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 10. Avani Rana, Staff, term expires 2024
- 11. Ellen Farr, Staff, term expires 2025
- 12. Jennifer Palmgren, provost designee
- 13. Lisa Grimm, Academic Dean
- 14. Jackie Anderson, Undergraduate Student
- 15. Jennifer Castro, Undergraduate Student
- 16. Katy Robinson Graduate Student
- 17. Lisa Watson-Cotton, Records & Registration representative