Committee on Academic Programs (CAP) Minutes for Meeting on 10/25/2023

<u>Present</u>: Brett BuSha, David Mazeika, Monisha Pulimood, Jackie Andersen, Jewell Mazahreh, Lisa Watson-Cotton, Steven Stringer, Jennifer Palmgren, John McCarty, Tracy Perron, Ellen Farr, Angie Capece, Susan Ryan

Excused absence: Avani Rana, Sylvia Twersky, Lisa Grimm, Katherine Miller

1. Review and approve minutes

The October 11, 2023 meeting minutes were approved.

2. Discussion of current charges/business:

- a. Active charges/business under discussion
 - i. Graduate student full time definition / MPS
 - GSC will discuss the MPS and the graduate student full-time definition at their monthly meeting on Nov 1, 2023. The CAP GSC subcommittee will report back on this discussion during the next CAP meeting.
 - ii. Withdrawing from a course (5 year review)
 - 1. Minor edits were made to the policy and CAP believes no subcommittee needs to be formed and no testimony needs to be gathered. CAP will send these to minor edits to Steering.
 - iii. Section 70 courses
 - 1. Major edits are needed. CAP formed a subcommittee to review the policy.

3. Notes on Committees that report to CAP

- a. College Core Council
- b. Community Engaged Learning Council
- c. Cultural and Intellectual Community Council
- d. Global Engagement Council
- e. Graduate Studies Council
- f. Honors and Scholars Council
- g. Mentored Research and Internships Council
- h. Self-Designed Major Council
- i. Teacher Education Council
- j. Teaching and Learning Council
- 4. Our **next meeting** will be November 8th, 1:30-2:50 p.m.

CAP 2023-24 Roster

- 1. Steven Singer, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 2. Angie Capece, Faculty, term expires 2026

- 3. Sylvia Twersky, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 4. John McCarty, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 5. Brett BuSha, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 6. Monisha Pulimood, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 7. Tracy Perron, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 8. Susan Ryan, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 9. Dave Mazeika, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 10. Avani Rana, Staff, term expires 2024
- 11. Ellen Farr, Staff, term expires 2025
- 12. Jennifer Palmgren, provost designee
- 13. Lisa Grimm, Academic Dean
- 14. Jackie Anderson, Undergraduate Student
- 15. Jewell Mazahreh, Undergraduate Student
- 16. Katherine Miller, Graduate Student
- 17. Lisa Watson-Cotton, Records & Registration representative