Committee on Academic Programs (CAP) Minutes for Meeting on 9/13/2023

Present: Brett BuSha, Ellen Farr, David Mazeika, John McCarty, Monisha Pulimood, Avani Rana, Lisa Grimm, Steven Singer, Angie Capece, Sylvia Twersky, Jackie Andersen, Jewell Mazahreh. Katherine Miller. Lisa Watson-Cotton

Excused: Jennifer Palmgren

Absent: Tracy Perron

1. Review and approve minutes

a. May 2023 minutes approved

2. Elections

a. David Mazeika was elected Vice-Chair and Monisha Pulimood was elected as Chair.

3. Discussion of current charges/business:

- a. Active charges/business under discussion
 - i. Review MUSE Updated RFP
 - 1. CAP voted on and approved the updated RFP
 - a. There were suggestions regarding the administration of the program, CAP felt were important to relay to Steering.
 - CAP felt it will be critical to onboard transfer students since this will be their first exposure to the college.
 - ii. There could be an orientation for these students and mentoring faculty introduction ahead of the MUSE program.

b. Graduate Student subcommittee

Ellen Farr, Katherine Miller, and Sylvia Twersky agreed to serve on the Graduate Student subcommittee that will be CAP's liaison to the GSC, and focus on policies and other business related to graduate programs.

4. Notes on Committees that report to CAP

- a. Graduate Studies Council:
- b. Honor's Program:
- c. Liberal Learning Council:
- d. Community Engaged Learning Council
- e. Cultural and Intellectual Community Council
- f. Global Engagement Council
- g. Mentored Research and Internships Council
- h. Self-Designed Major Council
- i. Teacher Education Council
- j. Teaching and Learning Council
- **5.** Our **next meeting** will be October 11, 2023, 1:30-2:50 p.m.

CAP 2023-24 Roster

- 1. Steven Singer, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 2. Angie Capece, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 3. Sylvia Twersky, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 4. John McCarty, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 5. Brett BuSha, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 6. Monisha Pulimood, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 7. Tracy Perron, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 8. Dave Mazeika, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 9. Avani Rana, Staff, term expires 2024
- 10. Jennifer Palmgren, provost designee
- 11. Lisa Grimm, Academic Dean
- 12. Ellen Farr, Staff, term expires 2025
- 13. Jackie Andersen, Undergraduate Student
- 14. Jewell Mazahreh, Undergraduate Student
- 15. Katherine Miller, Graduate Student
- 16. Lisa Watson-Cotton, Records & Registration representative