Committee on Academic Programs (CAP) Minutes for Meeting on 3/22/2023

Present: Joe Baker, Brett BuSha,, Peter Corso, Hiya Dogiparthi, Ellen Farr, David Mazeika, John McCarty, Jennifer Palmgren, Monisha Pulimood, Avani Rana, Aimee Stahl, Jane Wong

Excused: Sharon Byrne, Heba Jahama, Jennifer Prince

1. Review and approve minutes

a. 3/8/2023: Approved

2. Votes:

- a. Program closure policy
 - i. Vote to return policy to Steering for further consideration about which committee is most appropriate for this charge: Approved
- b. Post-Master Certificate in Global Ed Leadership
 - i. Approved
- c. Undergraduates Enrolling in and Double Counting Graduate Courses Policy
 - i. Revised wording on who can approve an undergraduate to take graduate course
 - 1. Approved

3. Discussion of current charges/business:

- a. Active charges/business under discussion
 - i. Incomplete and In-Process Grade Changes Policy
 - 1. Discussion of charge and updated draft policy from the subcommittee
 - a. Discussed timeline of due dates, will add table to policy for clarification
 - ii. Student Complaints Policy 5-year review
 - 1. Reviewed updated draft of policy
 - Discussed language on timing and approval of expedited request
 - iii. Program entrance, retention, and exit standards policy
 - 1. Will discuss next meeting
- b. Recently sent for stakeholder feedback
 - i. Graduate Admissions/Readmissions Charges
 - 1. Testimony agreed with the changes
 - 2. GSC will discuss whether GRE requirement should still be in the policy.

4. Notes on Committees that report to CAP

- a. Graduate Studies Council:
- b. Honor's Program:
- c. Liberal Learning Council:.
- d. Community Engaged Learning Council:
- e. Cultural and Intellectual Community Council

- f. Global Engagement Council
- g. Mentored Research and Internships Council
- h. Self-Designed Major Council
- i. Teacher Education Council
- j. Teaching and Learning Council
- **5.** Our **next meeting** will be April 12, 2023 1:30 to 2:50 pm in Science Complex Chemistry Room C122A (or via the Zoom option).

CAP 2022-23 Roster

- 1. Empty position, Faculty, term expires 2023
- 2. Brett BuSha, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 3. Aimee Stahl, Vice-Chair, Faculty, term expires 2023
- 4. Sharon Byrne, Faculty, term expires 2023
- 5. John McCarty, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 6. Joe Baker, Chair, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 7. Monisha Pulimood, term expires 2025
- 8. David Mazeika, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 9. Avani Rana, Staff, term expires 2024
- 10. Jennifer Palmgren, Provost Designee
- 11. Jane Wong, Academic Dean
- 12. Heba Jahama, Staff, R&R rep, non-voting
- 13. Ellen Farr, Staff, term expires 2025
- 14. Hiya Dogiparthi, Undergraduate Student
- 15. Peter Corso, Undergraduate Student
- 16. Jennifer Prince, Graduate Student