## Committee on Faculty Affairs Minutes (prepared by Teresa Nakra) September 28, 2022

<u>Present:</u> Gary Dickinson (chair), Brenda Ghitulescu, Holly Haynes, Sunita Kramer, Bethany Sewell, Radhika Vyas, Teresa Nakra (vice-chair), Manish Paliwal, John Marshall, Susan Ryan, Christopher Fisher

**Excused**: Tim Clydesdale, Carolina Marques-Borges

**Absent:** None

- 1. Committee members were asked whether they would like to continue to receive paper copies of meeting agendas; members agreed to receive digital files only.
- 2. Meeting dates reviewed for Fall 2022: December 14 meeting date remains tentative.
- **3.** Communication Studies' DS were provisionally approved this past spring, pending minor edits. An updated version was recently received; no objections were raised to approving those minor edits.
- **4.** Dickinson will check with departments who received a memo from CFA requesting changes to their DSs during the 2021-2022 academic year but have not yet resubmitted their DS: English, Creative Writing, Math & Statistics, Criminology
- 5. Minutes from September 14, 2022 meeting reviewed:
  - a. Holly Haynes moved, Brenda Ghitulescu seconded, all approved.
- **6.** Disciplinary Standards reviewed:
  - a. Counselor Education feedback discussed; Dickinson will draft a memo summarizing recommendations for CFA members to review before sending to the department
  - b. Anthropology & Sociology feedback discussed; Dickinson will draft memo
  - c. Computer Science feedback discussed; Dickinson will draft memo
- 7. Political Science DS will be reviewed at our next meeting, as well as the memos for the three DSs reviewed today

- **8.** Working groups were formed to address the three ongoing charges and plan an initial timeline for completion (each group should meet once during the next two weeks):
  - a. <u>Undergraduate Advising Policies and Practices</u>: Sunita Kramer, John Marshall,
    Brenda Ghitulescu, Gary Dickinson (will review Qualtrics feedback and consider changes to the preliminary recommendation)
  - b. <u>Copyrighted Materials Policy:</u> Bethany Sewell, Teresa Nakra, Tim Clydesdale, Manish Paliwal (will review changes made and draft a preliminary recommendation)
  - c. <u>Student Feedback</u>: Chris Fisher, Holly Haynes, Radhika Vyas (student), Susan Ryan (will review feedback received during the 2022-2023 academic year and consider steps moving forward).

Adjourned 2:52 pm.